Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

With all my Lego blogging having moved over to geeksdoingstuff.com, and my Pathfinder game happening at erratic intervals, I have been wondering what to actually blog about here! Then it came to me: The Sims 4 is coming out later this year, and I have yet to complete a legacy challenge in The Sims 3.

You may be wondering just what a legacy challenge is. Simply put, it’s a long-term challenge involving ten generations of a Sim family starting from a single founder. No cheats are allowed, nor is moving to a new house, nor even creating your own Sims to marry into the family. You cannot increase your Sim’s lifespan by any means, and if your heir dies before producing a new heir, that’s it!

The full rules of the Sims Legacy Challenge can be found on this website. I’ve started a legacy before, but found myself interrupted by the arrival of new expansion/stuff packs for review, and the strange bugs that can sometimes cause. So now that there are no more expansions for The Sims 3, I thought it was time to finally attempt one of these challenges.

Due to the limited amount of free time I seem to have these days, I’ll probably only be able to play the game for any hour here and there, but I’ll try tot update the blog as regularly as I can with my progress. I’ll also be discussing the specific rules/goals I’ve set for myself as I go.

So, without further ado, I introduce you to my legacy founder, Magenta Smith.

MagentaSmith_closeup

She’s a very pink fairy who really just wants to be a normal girl. Unfortunately for Magenta, the town of Dragon Valley is far from normal! She’s family oriented, good, a gatherer, artistic and nurturing. Hopefully this means she’ll be able to bring in the second generation of the Smith family without too many problems!

Next time, I’ll be moving her into one of the biggest lots in Dragon Valley, and trying to find her some work, and perhaps a romantic interest.

2 thoughts on “Sims 3 Legacy Challenge

  1. I didn’t even know this was a thing! It’s always been my aim with Sims 2 to see how many generations I can produce. But I do let my sims marry other sims I’ve created and stuff if they seemed doomed to live out a life alone and I do extend the life of the sims if I really like them. My legacy-ish family started with a highly-customised anime-like Sim and then I eventually stopped breeding them when all the sim babies started looking the same because the gene pool seemed to have run dry.

    I really look forward to reading this. If I had more simming time at the moment I’d totally join you 🙂

    • People have come up with some hectic Sims 2 legacy challenges as well. Not all are as strict as the original one – people have created variations with their own flavours. I haven’t yet decided how strict I’m going to be with myself!

      I don’t even know what my longest running family has been as I too tend to extend the life spans of Sims I really like…

      I do remember playing a Sims 1 family for over 100 days… after that it started freezing a lot, plus it was pointless having kids as they never grew up 😉

Leave a Reply

